The Code, Rake and The Moodys scoop top awards at the 2014 AWGIEs.

8 September 2014

Miniseries The Code took the top prize at the 2014 Australian Writer’s Guild Awards on Friday night. The Playmaker series, which premieres on ABC1 Australia on September 21st, was the winner of the Original Television Miniseries Award, and also took the Major AWGIE – given to the best of the best in all mediums. Many congratulations to Blake Ayshford, Shelley Birse and Justin Monjo for this hugh accolade.

Rake, now in Series 3, continues to garner awards. Well done to Peter Duncan for Best Television Series for the episode ‘Their Lordships V Finnane’. Rake has previously won a number of awards and we are thrilled that this award recognises that the series just gets better and better.

In comedy The Moodys took all three nominations for Best Narrative Comedy and won with episode ‘Australia Day’. Congratulations to Trent O’Donnell and Phil Lloyd for taking home the big prize, and to cast member Patrick Brammall, who wrote one of the nominated scripts. Brammall also received the award on Trent and Phil’s behalf, reading out their acceptance speech which detailed why his script was no good. The other two nominations were for ‘Sean’s Day in Court’ – Patrick Brammall and ‘Commitments’ – Trent O’Donnell and Phil Lloyd.